jury-camera-d-or
Emmanuelle Béart © Harold James / Baloji © Kristin Lee Moolman

Baloji and Emmanuelle Béart will co-preside over the Caméra d’or Jury of the 77th Festival de Cannes

The 77th Festival de Cannes will feature an unprecedented yet self-evident pairing at the head of the Caméra d’or Jury. As rich dialogue and inspiring gaze arise from encounters, the Festival de Cannes is eager to bring together Emmanuelle Béart and Baloji to co-preside over the Jury that will honor one of the first films presented in the Festival’s Official Selection or its parallel sections.

An unprecedented pairing since French actress Emmanuelle Béart and director and songwriter Baloji, who evolves in Belgium and the Democratic Republic of Congo, have never met. She has worked with some of the world’s greatest filmmakers, dazzling both screen and stage with her incandescent performance. He is a bold, visionary creator, who made two short films before receiving the New Voice Prize at Un Certain Regard in 2023 for his acclaimed debut feature Omen.

An obvious pairing as both are free spirits with no limits, who rely on their art to achieve creative freedom. Through her impressive filmography and her humanitarian commitment, Emmanuelle Béart is forever supporting a filmmaking to be shared, to emancipate, transcend borders and help us live together. Baloji, in his first feature film with impressive aesthetic mastery, delivers a chronicle that transcends otherness through the prism of magical realism.

Delighted to be paired at the head of the Caméra d’or Jury, Baloji and Emmanuelle Béart will combine their voices to welcome the first features of filmmakers who look at the world with inspiration, tell us about it with emotion and invite us to discuss it with the conviction of beginnings. “Being a self-taught filmmaker and a filmmaker from the Congolese diaspora,” confides Baloji, “it’s a great honour to be able to witness the vitality of first-time directors, to discover their strong singularities and their inaugural work, which will have a lasting impact on the identity of their filmography.” Emmanuelle Béart declares: “A first film is about the impossibility of doing anything other than delving into the depths of one’s being to find out what we can’t keep quiet about. A deeply moving and terribly free birth: no one is waiting for you yet. We will honor our duty with wonder and respect.”

The Caméra d’or Jury has been co-chaired three times before: by actress Françoise Fabian and director Daniel Schmid in 1996, by Marthe Keller and Géraldine Chaplin in 2002, and by brothers Luc and Jean-Pierre Dardenne in 2006.

In 2023, the Caméra d’Or was awarded to Pham Thien An for Inside the Yellow Cocoon Shell  by the Jury presided over by French actress Anaïs Demoustier.

Caméra d'or Jury

Baloji © Kristin Lee Moolman © Kristin Lee Moolman

BALOJI

CO-PRESIDENT
Director, songwriter, artistic director
© Harold James © Harold James

EMMANUELLE BÉART

CO-PRESIDENT
Actress, director, producer
© DR © DR

GILLES PORTE (AFC)

Director of photography
 © DR

PASCAL BURON (FICAM)

DGM HR & Support at TSF
 © DR

ZOÉ WITTOCK (SRF)

Screenwriter, director
 © DR

NATHALIE CHIFFLET (SFCC)

Cinema and culture section editor (EBRA), Treasurer of SFCC

About the Caméra d'or

Since 1978, the Caméra d’or is awarded to the best first feature film presented in the Official Selection, in the Semaine de la Critique or in the Quinzaine des Cinéastes. It is designed to encourage young creation and it is a catalyst for the career of filmmakers as it offers them a unique, international showcase. Past winners of the Caméra d’or include among others Jim Jarmusch, Jafar Panahi, Ildikó Enyedi, Steve McQueen or Anthony Chen. 

The list of films in contention are available here: Official SelectionSemaine de la CritiqueQuinzaine des Cinéastes.

News
La Cinef - Programme 1 - 2024
2024 La Cinef Selection: Program 1 For its 27th edition La Cinef has selected 18 shorts (14 live-action and 4 animated films) from among the 2,263 submitted by film schools all over the world. This year’s...
Directors' Talks & Masterclass 2024
Directors’ Talks & Masterclass 2024 Discussions about the creative process, artistic vision and interweaving between fiction and reality.  With the Masterclass, we will dive into ROMA’s universe, a film directed by Alfonso Cuarón. A wonderful...
Focus COPRO' 2024
Focus COPRO’ 2024 The Focus COPRO’ creates synergies between the main decision-makers attending the Marché du Film and renowned short film talents part of the Festival de Cannes and the SFC | Rendez-vous Industry. This...

jury-camera-d-or
Emmanuelle Béart © Harold James / Baloji © Kristin Lee Moolman

Baloji et Emmanuelle Béart en duo pour présider le Jury de la Caméra d’or du 77e Festival de Cannes

Un tandem inédit et pour autant évident se formera à la tête du Jury de la Caméra d’or du 77e Festival de Cannes. La richesse du dialogue et la beauté du regard naissant de la rencontre, le Festival de Cannes est impatient de réunir les artistes Emmanuelle Béart et Baloji pour coprésider le Jury qui distinguera l’un des premiers films présentés dans la Sélection officielle du Festival de Cannes ou dans ses sections parallèles.

Un tandem inédit car l’actrice française Emmanuelle Béart et le réalisateur et auteur-compositeur Baloji, qui évolue en Belgique et en République Démocratique du Congo, ne se sont jamais rencontrés. Elle a travaillé avec les plus grands cinéastes et a illuminé l’écran et les planches grâce à son jeu incandescent. Lui est un créateur audacieux et visionnaire qui a réalisé deux courts métrages avant d’être honoré du Prix de la nouvelle voix Un Certain Regard en 2023 pour son très remarqué premier long métrage Augure.

Un tandem évident car ces deux artistes affranchis des limites, cheminent par leur art vers une liberté de ton et de création. Par son impressionnante filmographie et son engagement humanitaire, Emmanuelle Béart défend un cinéma qui se partage, qui émancipe, qui permet de dépasser les frontières et de vivre ensemble. Dans son premier long métrage à la maîtrise plastique impressionnante, Baloji, nous livre une chronique transcendant l’altérité par le prisme d’un réalisme magique.

Heureux d’être réunis à la tête du Jury de la Caméra d’or, Baloji et Emmanuelle Béart, en conjuguant leurs voix, accompagneront ainsi les premiers longs métrages de cinéastes qui regardent le monde avec inspiration, nous le racontent avec émotion et nous invitent à le discuter avec la force de conviction des débuts. « En tant que cinéaste autodidacte, cinéaste de la diaspora congolaise, confie Baloji, c’est un immense honneur d’être témoin privilégié de la vitalité de réalisateurs.trices primo-arrivant.es, découvrir des singularités affirmées, leur œuvre inaugurale qui vont durablement imprimer l’identité de leur filmographie. » De son côté, Emmanuelle Béart déclare : « Un premier film, c’est l’impossibilité de faire autrement que d’aller fouiller au tréfonds de son être ce qu’on ne peut taire. Une mise au monde bouleversante et terriblement libre : personne ne vous attend encore. Nous allons avec émerveillement et respect honorer notre devoir. »

C’est la quatrième fois que le Jury de la Caméra d’or est coprésidé : en 1996 l’actrice Françoise Fabian était accompagnée du réalisateur Daniel Schmid, en 2002, Marthe Keller s’associait à Géraldine Chaplin et en 2006, les frères Luc et Jean-Pierre Dardenne partageaient cette affiche.

En 2023, la Caméra d’or avait été attribuée à Pham Thien An pour L’Arbre aux papillons d’or par le Jury présidé par la comédienne française Anaïs Demoustier.

Le Jury de la Caméra d'or

 © Kristin Lee Moolman

BALOJI

COPRÉSIDENT
Réalisateur, auteur compositeur, directeur artistique
 © Harold James

EMMANUELLE BÉART

COPRÉSIDENTE
Actrice, réalisatrice, productrice
 © DR

GILLES PORTE (AFC)

Directeur de la photographie
 © DR

PASCAL BURON (FICAM)

DGA RH & Supports de TSF
 © DR

ZOÉ WITTOCK (SRF)

Scénariste, réalisatrice
 © DR

NATHALIE CHIFFLET (SFCC)

Cheffe de rubrique cinéma & culture groupe Ebra, trésorière du SFCC

A propos de la Caméra d'or

Depuis 1978, la Caméra d’or est attribuée à un des premiers films présentés en Sélection officielle, à la Semaine de la Critique ou à la Quinzaine des Cinéastes. Destiné à encourager la jeune création, ce prix agit comme un accélérateur sur la carrière des cinéastes en leur offrant un éclairage unique et une ouverture internationale. Dans le passé, il a entre autres récompensé Jim Jarmusch, Jafar Panahi, Ildikó Enyedi, Steve McQueen ou Anthony Chen.

Les listes des films en lice cette année sont consultables via les liens suivants : Sélection officielleSemaine de la Critique et Quinzaine des Cinéastes.

Actualités
La Cinef - Programme 1 - 2024
La Sélection La Cinef 2024 : Programme 1 Pour sa 27e édition, La Cinef a sélectionné 18 films (14 fictions et 4 animations) parmi les 2 263 présentés par des écoles de cinéma du monde entier. Le programme...
Directors' Talks & Masterclass 2024
Directors’ Talks & Masterclass 2024 Le Festival de Cannes réunit tous les cinémas.  Discussions autour du processus de création, de liberté artistique, et des entrelacements entre réalité et fiction.  La Masterclass, quant à elle, nous plongera...
Focus COPRO' 2024
Focus COPRO’ 2024 Le Focus COPRO’ crée des ponts entre les professionnels clés participants au Marché du Film et de jeunes réalisatrices et réalisateurs prometteurs prenant part au Festival de Cannes et au SFC...