industry-panels-et-keynote-2024

Industry Panels & Keynote 2024

Discover the first events of the program! 

— INDUSTRY PANELS

DISTRIBUTION Q&A

Focus on distribution and online perspectives to explore when it comes to showcase short films – time to ask everything you have always wanted to know to make your film seen! From searching for a distributor to festival approaching strategies, no stone will be left unturned during this hour of non-stop questions. 

 

Monday 20 May – 16:00 @Palais Stage   

With Justine Baillargeon, Claire Diao, Eva Krenner

Moderated by Jing Haase 

Speakers

JUSTINE BAILLARGEON - h264

After studying film at Concordia in Montreal and Sorbonne Nouvelle in Paris, as well as journalism at Université de Montréal, Justine marries her professional passions and becomes a journalist for Qui fait Quoi. In 2017, she leaves Quebec for France to work for the Cannes Film Festival Market, first collaborating with the Cinando team, the largest database dedicated to film professionals. She then joins the Industry Programs Department where she plays a part in developing of the first edition of the Online Film Market. In 2021, Justine integrated the h264 team as Head of Distribution.

CLAIRE DIAO - Sudu Connexion

Claire Diao is a French-Burkinabè film critic, she initiated the Quartiers Lointains travelling short film program in 2013, she co-founded the pan-African film magazine AWOTELE in 2015 and she has been managing the pan-African distribution company Sudu Connexion since 2016. TV presenter and columnist, she collaborates since 2011 with many international festivals (programming, animation, jury).

EVA KRENNER - THIS IS SHORT

Eva Krenner is a short film curator and project coordinator living in Vienna. She has been selecting and co-curating short film programs for SLASH Fantastic Film Festival since 2019, as well as the Late Night programs at Vienna Shorts since 2023. She is the project coordinator for THIS IS SHORT – a streaming platform dedicated to short films and run by the European Short Film Network (ESFN), which was launched as a year-round platform in November 2023. Besides her work in the field of film, she is specialized in concert and event-photography.

JING HAASE - Swedish Film Institute

Jing works at the Swedish film institute where she handles the international festival distribution of Swedish shorts. She has been working with short films for more than two decades, with a focus on international distribution.

— INDUSTRY PANELS

SHORT FILM TRENDS IN FESTIVALS

While filmmakers seek to get selected in festivals, programmers are looking for singular films in the thousands produced each year.  

While festivals must find films that speak to their audience, propose inspiring programmes and stick to their own DNA, only few filmmakers can make the cut, and the not selected ones may sometimes feel at mercy of random decisions.   

A deep dive into the trends witnessed in festivals, and how programmers & filmmakers navigate in deep waters between creation, stereotypes, expectations and the expression of a cinematographic signature…  

Tuesday 21 May – 16:00 @Palais Stage 

With Anna Henckel-Donnersmarck, Nicolas Khabbaz, Emilie Poirier

Moderated par Lotte Kircher 

Speakers

ANNA HENCKEL-DONNERSMARK - Berlinale Shorts

Anna Henckel-Donnersmarck does video installations for theater and exhibitions, teaches and has been working for film festivals as programmer and moderator (Berlinale Shorts, Kassel Doc Festival, Zebra Poetry Film Festival, Filmwinter, Pictoplasma) or jury member for over 20 years. Since 2019 she is head of Berlinale Shorts.

NICOLAS KHABBAZ - Beirut Shorts & Batroun Mediterranean Film Festival

Film and Theatre producer from Lebanon, Nicolas studied filmmaking and holds a PhD in cinema. He is a professor at Notre Dame University and the artistic director of Beirut Shorts Film Festival & Batroun Mediterranean Film Festival. He has participated in acclaimed festivals as a filmmaker, jury member, curator and industry expert. His Films premiered in Locarno and Toronto Film Festival.

EMILIE POIRIER - Festival du Nouveau Cinéma Montréal

Emilie Poirier has been working in programming at the Montreal Festival du nouveau cinéma (FNC) since 2017. She is now head of short film and feature film programmer. She is also a member of the preselection committee at Busan International Short Film Festival as well as an independent curator, moderator and writer.

LOTTE KIRCHER - Consultante & modératrice

After working at international film festivals for ten years, Lotte decided to focus on moderating and conceptualizing panels. Her current focus lies on working conditions and social security in the film industry, especially for women.

— KEYNOTE

A more intimate format, complementing the Panels, for discussions on specific themes. Discover one of the two Keynotes presented this year.  

HOW TO BOOST THE VISIBILITY OF YOUR SHORTS? 


Whether you want to release a first or auto-produced short film, foster your audience and festival network after a great premiere, or if you have qualified to the Oscars®;  this keynote will help directors, producers and distributors who are looking for tools, tips and different strategies to create a successful campaign to promote their film. 

 

Tuesday 21 May – 14:00 @Palais Stage 

With Benoit Berthe Siward 

Speaker

BENOIT BERTHE SIWARD - The Animation Showcase

Benoit is a film strategist, founder of 'The Animation Showcase' consulting boutique. He's helped several shorts & feature films to get recognized within the industry and has led award campaigns for films gathering more than 20 Oscars® nominations, and a few Oscar® wins in the short categories including THE WINDSHIELD WIPER in 2022 and WAR IS OVER! in 2024. He built the first film industry-based & free streaming platform, allowing people from the motion picture industry to watch the best shorts and features of the season.

A bonus Keynote will be announced in the next weeks! 

News
Directors' Talks & Masterclass 2024
Directors’ Talks & Masterclass 2024 Discussions about the creative process, artistic vision and interweaving between fiction and reality.  With the Masterclass, we will dive into ROMA’s universe, a film directed by Alfonso Cuarón. A wonderful...
Focus COPRO' 2024
Focus COPRO’ 2024 The Focus COPRO’ creates synergies between the main decision-makers attending the Marché du Film and renowned short film talents part of the Festival de Cannes and the SFC | Rendez-vous Industry. This...
Creative Programs 2024 : Consultants, Mentors & Experts The SFC | Rendez-vous Industry would like to extend its warmest thanks to the professionals who support our Creative Programs project–holders.

industry-panels-et-keynote-2024

Industry Panels & Keynote 2024

Découvrez les premiers évènements du programme ! 

— INDUSTRY PANELS

DISTRIBUTION Q&A

Focus sur la distribution et diffusion sur les plateformes en ligne – c’est le moment de poser les questions que vous n’avez jamais osé poser ! De la recherche d’un distributeur aux stratégies d’approche des festivals, rien ne sera laissé de côté au cours de cette heure de questions/réponses. 

Lundi 20 mai, 16:00 @Palais Stage 

Avec Justine Baillargeon, Claire Diao, Eva Krenner 

Modéré par Jing Haase 

Intervenants

JUSTINE BAILLARGEON - h264

Après des études en cinéma à Concordia à Montréal et à l’Université Sorbonne Nouvelle à Paris ainsi qu’en journalisme à l’Université de Montréal, Justine marie ses passions professionnelles et devient journaliste pour le Qui fait Quoi. En 2017, elle quitte le Québec pour la France afin d’œuvrer pour le Marché du Film du Festival de Cannes, collaborant d’abord avec l’équipe de Cinando, la plus importante base de données dédiée aux professionnels du cinéma. Elle rejoint par la suite le département des Industry Programs au sein duquel elle participe à l’élaboration de la première édition du Marché du Film Online. En 2021, Justine intègre l’équipe d’h264 et devient directrice de la distribution.

CLAIRE DIAO - Sudu Connexion

Critique de cinéma franco-burkinabè, Claire Diao est à l'initiative en 2013 du programme itinérant de courts-métrages Quartiers Lointains, co-fondatrice en 2015 de la revue panafricaine de cinéma AWOTELE, et gérante de la société panafricaine de distribution Sudu Connexion depuis 2016. Présentatrice et chroniqueuse TV, elle collabore depuis 2011 avec de nombreux festivals internationaux (programmation, animation, jury).

EVA KRENNER - THIS IS SHORT

Eva Krenner est une curatrice de courts métrages et coordinatrice de projets basée à Vienne. Elle prend part à la sélection et à l’élaboration de programmes de courts métrages pour SLASH Fantastic Film Festival depuis 2019, ainsi que pour les programmes ‘Late Night’ pour le festival Vienna Shorts depuis 2023. Elle est la coordinatrice de l’initiative THIS IS SHORT – une plateforme de streaming dédiée aux courts métrages, mise en place par l’European Short Film Network (ESFN) en novembre 2023. Outre son travail dans le domaine du cinéma, elle est spécialisée en photographie de concerts et d'événements.

JING HAASE - Swedish Film Institute

Jing est en charge de la distribution en festival des courts métrages suédois pour le Swedish Film Institute. Elle est impliquée dans l’industrie du court métrage depuis plus de vingt ans.

— INDUSTRY PANELS

EXISTE-T-IL UNE TENDANCE DANS LE COURT METRAGE ET LES FESTIVALS ?

Alors que les cinéastes aspirent à être sélectionnés en festivals, les programmateurs recherchent les films les plus singuliers parmi les milliers de courts métrages produits chaque année.   

Tandis que les festivals doivent susciter l’intérêt de leur audience, mais aussi proposer des programmes inspirants tout en conservant leur ligne éditoriale, les heureux élus sont rares et recevoir une non-sélection peut être une décision difficile à appréhender. 

Panorama des tendances observées dans les festivals. Comment programmateurs et réalisateurs naviguent entre création, langage cinématographique, attentes, stéréotypes et préjugés… 

Mardi 21 mai, 16:00 @Palais Stage 

Avec Anna Henckel-Donnersmarck, Nicolas Khabbaz, Emilie Poirier

Modéré par Lotte Kircher 

Intervenants

ANNA HENCKEL-DONNERSMARCK - Berlinale Shorts

Anna Henckel-Donnersmarck crée des installations vidéo pour le théâtre et dans le cadre d’expositions, est enseignante et a été impliquée en tant que programmatrice et modératrice pour des festivals de cinéma (Berlinale Shorts, Kassel Doc Festival, Zebra Poetry Film Festival, Filmwinter, Pictoplasma) ou en tant que membre du jury depuis plus de 20 ans. Elle est à la tête de la section Berlinale Shorts depuis 2019.

NICOLAS KHABBAZ - Beirut Shorts & Batroun Mediterranean Film Festival

Producteur pour le cinéma et la télévision au Liban, Nicolas a étudié la réalisation et est diplômé d’un doctorat en cinéma. Il est professeur à l’Université Notre Dame et directeur artistique de Beirut Shorts Film Festival & Batroun Mediterranean Film Festival. Il a participé à des festivals renommés en tant que réalisateur, membre du jury, programmateur et expert. Ses films ont été présentés en première mondiale à Locarno et TIFF.

EMILIE POIRIER - Festival du Nouveau Cinéma Montréal

Émilie Poirier œuvre au Festival du nouveau cinéma de Montréal (FNC) depuis 2017. À l’heure actuelle, elle est responsable de la programmation des courts métrages ainsi que programmatrice long métrage. Poirier est aussi membre du comité de présélection du Busan International Short Film Festival, ainsi que commissaire, modératrice et rédactrice indépendante.

LOTTE KIRCHER - Consultante & modératrice

Après avoir travaillé pour des festivals internationaux durant dix ans, Lotte se concentre sur la modération et la création de panels. Son intérêt actuel se porte sur les conditions de travail et la sécurité de l’emploi au sein de l’industrie cinématographique, spécifiquement pour les femmes.

— KEYNOTE

Un format plus intime, en complément des Panels & Talks, pour échanger autour de thématiques précises. Découvrez une des deux Keynotes présentées cette année.  

COMMENT AMÉLIORER LA VISIBILITÉ DE VOS COURTS MÉTRAGES ? 


Que vous souhaitiez lancer la carrière d’un court métrage auto-produit, que ce soit un premier film ou non, que vous souhaitiez booster son audience ou développer son parcours en festival après une belle première, ou encore que votre court métrage soit qualifié pour les Oscars® ; cette keynote aidera cinéastes, producteurs et distributeurs à la recherche d’outils, de conseils et de différentes stratégies pour créer une campagne de promotion réussie pour leur film. 

 

Mardi 21 mai, 14:00 @Palais Stage 

Avec Benoit Berthe Siward 

Intervenant

BENOIT BERTHE SIWARD - The Animation Showcase

Benoit est le fondateur de 'The Animation Showcase' une agence de conseil et de stratégie dans le milieu du cinéma. Il a travaillé sur la promotion de plusieurs films notamment en créant des campagnes pendant la saison des Oscars®, accumulant plus de 20 nominations et plusieurs Oscars dans les catégories courts incluant THE WINDSHIELD WIPER en 2022, ou encore WAR IS OVER! en 2024. Il est à l'origine de la première plateforme de streaming entièrement gratuite pour les personnes de l'industrie, sur laquelle est diffusée une collection de courts et de longs métrages de la saison.

Une Keynote ‘Bonus’ sera annoncée prochainement ! 

Actualités
La Cinef - Programme 1 - 2024
La Sélection La Cinef 2024 : Programme 1 Pour sa 27e édition, La Cinef a sélectionné 18 films (14 fictions et 4 animations) parmi les 2 263 présentés par des écoles de cinéma du monde entier. Le programme...
Directors' Talks & Masterclass 2024
Directors’ Talks & Masterclass 2024 Le Festival de Cannes réunit tous les cinémas.  Discussions autour du processus de création, de liberté artistique, et des entrelacements entre réalité et fiction.  La Masterclass, quant à elle, nous plongera...
Focus COPRO' 2024
Focus COPRO’ 2024 Le Focus COPRO’ crée des ponts entre les professionnels clés participants au Marché du Film et de jeunes réalisatrices et réalisateurs prometteurs prenant part au Festival de Cannes et au SFC...