2022 Focus WiP © DR
2022 Focus WiP © DR

Focus WiP

The Focus WiP is a selection of promising short films in production or post-production presented to key players of the short film Industry – distributors, programmers, institutions, film funds, producers and buyers – within a pitch session.


The initiative allows filmmakers to benefit from mentoring sessions and promote their project before its finalization.

Directors and producers of the chosen projects enjoy a privileged space to present extracts from their work-in-progress. The Focus WiP aims at facilitating the completion and the release of these short films on an international scale.



The project holders get access to the following benefits:

  • Pitch Training workshop
  • Individual mentoring session with a dedicated mentor, depending on the short’s current step of development
  • Participation to the Focus WiP session – presentation of the chosen work-in-progress
  • One-to-one meetings with the attending decision-makers

Thanks to the participation of Hiventy, technical partner of the Festival de Cannes, a project will benefit from a 5’000€ grant  dedicated to the finalization of the short film post-production.



In 2022, project-holders had the chance to count on the expertise of various mentors:

Justine Baillargeon – h264 ; Nadia Ben Rachid – editor ; Jim Cummings – filmmaker ; Ron Dyens – Sacrebleu Productions ; Lisa Marie Russo – producer & director ; Wim Vanacker – First Cut Lab ; Florian Weghorn – Berlinale Talents

The 2023 mentors will be announced soon.



MIDPOINT Institute – Upon all the projects presented, one of them will be taken from MIDPOINT Shorts, a program dedicated to short films in development.



Submissions are made possible upon invitation.


The Focus SCRIPT creates new bonds with Visual Arts & Film Schools as well as the professionals attending the Festival de Cannes.
2022 Focus SCRIPT participants  © DR
Dedicated to first feature films, the Focus COPRO’ shines a light on short filmmakers taking the path of feature films.
2022 Marché du Film participants © DR