L'Atelier 2017 © RR

L’Atelier 2017

The Cinefondation’s Atelier hosts its thirteenth edition this year and will invite to the Festival de Cannes 16 directors whose projects have been considered particularly promising. Together with their producers, they will be able to meet potential partners, a necessary step to finish their project and start the making of their film. L’Atelier provides its participants access to international co-productions, thus accelerating the film’s completion.

The Cinefondation’s Atelier has been created in 2005 to stimulate creative filmmaking and encourage the emergence of a new generation of filmmakers. So far, out of 186 projects accompanied, 145 have been completed and 14 are currently in pre-production. For L’Atelier’s 13th edition, 15 projects from 14 countries have been selected, from the new director to the well-known filmmaker.


Sew the Winter to my Skin Jahmil X.T. Qubeka  South Africa
Day After Tomorrow Kamar Ahmad Simon Bangladesh
Ningdu Lei Lei China
Teenage Jesus Marie Grahtø Denmark
Decompression Yona Rozenkier Israel
Go Youth ! Carlos Armella Mexico
Bedridden Byamba Sakhya Mongolia
Alam Firas Khoury Palestine
Candy Town Yanillys Perez Dominican Republic
Otto the Barbarian Ruxandra Ghitescu Romania
Summer E5 Emily Young The United Kingdom
City of Small Blessings Chen-Hsi Wong Singapor
The Translator Rana Kazkaz & Anas Khalaf Syria
Cu Li Never Cries Pham Ngoc Lan Vietnam
Taste Le Bao Vietnam


From May 19 to 25, L’Atelier will arrange meetings with the directors for film industry professionals interested in investing in their projects.

Flóra Anna Buda, 2023 Short Film Palme d'or with 27 © LOIC VENANCE / AFP
The 76th Festival de Cannes short film winners’ list During the Award Ceremony of the 76th Festival de Cannes, the short film and La Cinef Jury – presided by Ildikó Enyedi – presented its winners’ list among the 11...
La Compétition des Courts Métrages © FDC
The 2023 short film Competition Selected from 4589 films, 11 shorts are presented this year in Competition, coming from 12 countries : Argentina, Colombia, Spain, the United States, France, Hungary, Indonesia, Iceland, Norway, Poland, the...
Les lauréates de La Cinef 2023 © Joachim Tournebize / FDC
The winners of the 26th La Cinef Selection The Short Films and La Cinef Jury presided by Ildikó Enyedi and comprised of Ana Lily Amirpour, Shlomi Elkabetz, Charlotte Le Bon and Karidja Touré has awarded the 2023 La...