L'Atelier 2018 © FDC

L’Atelier 2018

The Cinefondation’s Atelier hosts its fourteenth edition this year and will invite to the Festival de Cannes 15 directors whose projects have been considered particularly promising. Together with their producers, they will be able to meet potential partners, a necessary step to finish their project and start the making of their film. L’Atelier provides its participants access to international co-productions, thus accelerating the film’s completion.

The Cinefondation’s Atelier has been created in 2005 to stimulate creative filmmaking and encourage the emergence of a new generation of filmmakers. So far, out of 202 projects accompanied, 145 have been released in the theaters and 28 are currently in pre-production. For L’Atelier’s 14th edition, 15 projects from 15 countries have been selected, from the new director to the well-known filmmaker.


The Last Queen Damien Ounouri Algeria
Yashar Elvin Adigozel Azerbaidjan
The Summer Factory Chen Tao China
The Return Meyar AL-Roumi France / Syria
Black Box Aslı Özge Germany / Turkey
A Rooster on the Fire Escape Guetty Felin Haiti
Echo Rúnar Rúnarsson Iceland
We’re the Kids in America Imelda O’Reilly Ireland
Highway 65 Maya Dreifuss Israel
Tragic Jungle Yulene Olaizola Mexico
Across the Rainbow Bridge Niranjan Raj Bhetwal Nepal
Whether the Weather is Fine Carlo Francisco Manatad Philippines
The Color Of The Skull Sibs Shongwe-La Mer South Africa
Doi Boy Nontawat Numbenchapol Thailand
Glorious Ashes Bùi Thạc Chuyên Vietnam


From May 10 to 16, L’Atelier will arrange meetings with the directors for film industry professionals interested in investing in their projects.

Flóra Anna Buda, 2023 Short Film Palme d'or with 27 © LOIC VENANCE / AFP
The 76th Festival de Cannes short film winners’ list During the Award Ceremony of the 76th Festival de Cannes, the short film and La Cinef Jury – presided by Ildikó Enyedi – presented its winners’ list among the 11...
La Compétition des Courts Métrages © FDC
The 2023 short film Competition Selected from 4589 films, 11 shorts are presented this year in Competition, coming from 12 countries : Argentina, Colombia, Spain, the United States, France, Hungary, Indonesia, Iceland, Norway, Poland, the...
Les lauréates de La Cinef 2023 © Joachim Tournebize / FDC
The winners of the 26th La Cinef Selection The Short Films and La Cinef Jury presided by Ildikó Enyedi and comprised of Ana Lily Amirpour, Shlomi Elkabetz, Charlotte Le Bon and Karidja Touré has awarded the 2023 La...