1144 x 724 juin.jpg
L'Atelier 2020 © RR

Project Selection – L’Atelier 2020

The Cinefondation’s Atelier hosts its sixteenth edition this year and will invite to the Festival de Cannes 16 directors whose projects have been considered particularly promising. Together with their producers, they will be able to meet potential partners, a necessary step to finish their project and start the making of their film. L’Atelier provides its participants access to international co-productions, thus accelerating the film’s completion.

The Cinefondation’s Atelier has been created in 2005 to stimulate creative filmmaking and encourage the emergence of a new generation of filmmakers. So far, out of 233 projects accompanied, 171 have been released theatrically and 14 are currently in pre-production. For L’Atelier’s 16th edition, 15 projects from 15 countries have been selected, from the upcoming director to the well-known filmmaker.


Dayao Swims Against the Flow Zhang Tao China
A Male Fabian Hernández Colombia
Carnaval Mohamed Siam Egypt
Animal Sofia Exarchou Greece
Marichjhapi Bauddhayan Mukherji India
The Happiest Man in The World Teona Strugar Mitevska North Macedonia
Tiger Stripes Amanda Nell Eu Malaysia
A Fucked up Tribute to Motherly Love Esther Rots & Dan Geesin The Netherlands
Some Nights I Feel Like Walking Petersen Vargas Philippines
Le Serviteur Marian Crisan Romania
Birchanger Green Moin Hussain The United Kindgom
Frost Pavle Vučković Serbia
The Store Hanna Sköld Sweden
Balkaya Emin Alper Turkey
The Station Sara Ishaq Yemen



From June 23 to 25, L’Atelier will arrange meetings with the directors for film industry professionals interested in investing in their projects.


First grant of the New Producers Room 2024 The producer chosen by Go Short – International Short Film Festival & Screen Talent NL !
Halfdan Ullmann Tondel, and Presidents of the Camera d'Or jury Baloji and Emmanuelle Beart 
The 2024 Caméra d’or At the 77th Cannes Film Festival’s Awards Ceremony, the Caméra d’Or Jury, co-chaired by Emmanuelle Béart and Baloji, rewarded the best first film from the 22 films in the running.
Croatian directpr Nebojsa Slijepcevic delivers a speech after he was awarded with the Short Film Prize for the film "The Man Who Could Not Remain Silent" during the Closing Ceremony at the 77th edition of the Cannes Film Festival in Cannes, southern France, on May 25, 2024. (Photo by Valery HACHE / AFP)
The 77th Festival de Cannes short film winners’ list During the Award Ceremony of the 77th Festival de Cannes, the short film and La Cinef Jury – presided by Lubna Azabal – presented its winners’ list among the 11...