L'Atelier 2021

Project Selection – L’Atelier 2021

L’Atelier de la Cinéfondation is hosting its 17th edition this year and inviting 15 directors to the Festival de Cannes whose projects have been considered particularly promising. Together with their producers, they will be able to meet with potential partners who can help them finalize their projects and begin production. L’Atelier also provides its participants access to international financing, which will indoubtedly help speed up the production process of their projects.

Created in 2005, L’Atelier was created by La Cinéfondation to stimulate creative filmmaking and help foster a new generation of filmmakers. So far, out of the 246 projects L’Atelier has overseen, 172 have been released in the theaters and 23 are currently in pre-production. For its 17th edition, 15 projects from 15 different countries — from beginning and seasoned filmmakers — will be showcased at the Festival.


Kein Wort by Hanna Slak

Landscapes of Fear de Lukas V. Rinner

Scattered de Kaspar Astrup Schröder

Fidelidad de César Díaz

Cora de Evi Kalogiropoulou

Jilah and the Man with Two Names de Yosep Anggi Noen

Parle-moi de 1985 de Zalfa Seurat

The Otter de Srđan Vuletić

Mandai River de Michaël Sewandono
The Netherlands

Caravan de Zuzana Kirchnerová
Czech Republic

White Road de Ella Manzheeva

Le Lac de Fabrice Aragno

Idea de Tayfun Pirselimoğlu

El Tiempo Que Perdimos de Gustavo Rondón Córdova

Viet and Nam de Minh Quý Trương


L’Atelier will also organize meetings from 8 to 13 July with these talented directors and connect them with film industry professionals interested in investing in their projects. Appointments will be made on the FESTICINE platform until 6 July 2021.

First grant of the New Producers Room 2024 The producer chosen by Go Short – International Short Film Festival & Screen Talent NL !
Halfdan Ullmann Tondel, and Presidents of the Camera d'Or jury Baloji and Emmanuelle Beart 
The 2024 Caméra d’or At the 77th Cannes Film Festival’s Awards Ceremony, the Caméra d’Or Jury, co-chaired by Emmanuelle Béart and Baloji, rewarded the best first film from the 22 films in the running.
Croatian directpr Nebojsa Slijepcevic delivers a speech after he was awarded with the Short Film Prize for the film "The Man Who Could Not Remain Silent" during the Closing Ceremony at the 77th edition of the Cannes Film Festival in Cannes, southern France, on May 25, 2024. (Photo by Valery HACHE / AFP)
The 77th Festival de Cannes short film winners’ list During the Award Ceremony of the 77th Festival de Cannes, the short film and La Cinef Jury – presided by Lubna Azabal – presented its winners’ list among the 11...