1144 x 724.jpg
Project Selection - L'Atelier 2022 © DR

Project Selection – L’Atelier 2022

L’Atelier hosts its eighteenth edition this year and will invite to the Festival de Cannes 16 directors whose projects have been considered particularly promising. Together with their producers, they will be able to meet potential partners, a necessary step to finish their project and start the making of their film. L’Atelier provides its participants access to international co-productions, thus accelerating the film’s completion.

L’Atelier has been created in 2005 to stimulate creative filmmaking and encourage the emergence of a new generation of filmmakers. So far, out of 231 projects accompanied until 2019, 182 are completed and 19 are currently in pre-production. In 2020, despite the sanitary crisis, the shooting of three projects was possible and twelve projects are currently in preproduction. For L’Atelier’s 18th edition, 15 projects from 15 countries have been selected, from the new director to the well-known filmmaker.


Anna Ist by Rosanne Pel
The Netherlands

Chimbo cheBere (The Hyenas Song) by Naishe Nyamubaya

Cotton Queen by Suzannah Mirghani

Guria by Levan Koguashvili

Hamlet from the Slums by Ahmed Fawzi Saleh

Made In EU by Stephan Komandarev

Philax by Rûken Tekeş

Sam by E del Mundo

The Beer Girl In Yangon by Sein Lyan Tun

The Blind Ferryman by Ali Al-Fatlawi
Iraq, Switzerland

Awdah by Ihab Jadallah
Palestine, Israel

The Forest by Tomas Weinreb & Petr Kazda
Czech republic

The Last Tears Of The Deceased by Beza Hailu Lemma

Where The River Begins by Juan Andres Arango

You Are My Everything by Michal Vinik



L’Atelier will also organize meetings from 22 to 27 May with these talented directors and connect them with film industry professionals interested in investing in their projects.

Appointments will be made on the FESTICINE platform from 04/01/22 to 05/09/22.

Flóra Anna Buda, 2023 Short Film Palme d'or with 27 © LOIC VENANCE / AFP
The 76th Festival de Cannes short film winners’ list During the Award Ceremony of the 76th Festival de Cannes, the short film and La Cinef Jury – presided by Ildikó Enyedi – presented its winners’ list among the 11...
La Compétition des Courts Métrages © FDC
The 2023 short film Competition Selected from 4589 films, 11 shorts are presented this year in Competition, coming from 12 countries : Argentina, Colombia, Spain, the United States, France, Hungary, Indonesia, Iceland, Norway, Poland, the...
Les lauréates de La Cinef 2023 © Joachim Tournebize / FDC
The winners of the 26th La Cinef Selection The Short Films and La Cinef Jury presided by Ildikó Enyedi and comprised of Ana Lily Amirpour, Shlomi Elkabetz, Charlotte Le Bon and Karidja Touré has awarded the 2023 La...